Public Library Website
Home > Research Tools > Online Databases     

Online Databases
Database Audience Description
ICONN.ORG - Connecticut Digital Library Use in Library or enter your library card number to access from home or office  The Connecticut Digital Library offers access to magazine and newspaper articles, reference books, health and business information, biographical information, readers advisory and more. It features the following databases: The Hartford Courant, ICONN Newspaper Collection, InfoTrac, Informe (full-text Spanish language magazines), Business & Company Resource Center, Discovering Collection (history, literature, biography, science and social studies), Health & Wellness Resource Center, Wilson Biographies Plus, and What do I read next?
Beacham's Guide to the Endangered Species of North America Use in Library or enter your South Windsor library card number to access from home or office  Presents extensive data on the habitats and ecosystems of species identified as endangered or threatened by the U.S. Fish and Wildlife service. Includes an image of the species, information on each species, and a summary of recovery efforts.
Electric Library Use in Library  The Electric Library offers full-text articles from magazines, books, broadcast transcripts and more. A good source for students.
Electric Library Enter your South Windsor card number to use from home or office 
Encyclopaedia Judaica Use in Library or enter your South Windsor card number to use from home or office  The standard encyclopedic work on Judaism including 21,000 signed entries on Jewish life, culture, history and religion. Donated by the Beatrice Fox Auerbach Foundation at the Hartford Foundation for Public Giving.
Encyclopedia Americana Use in Library   Who? What? Why? When? Where? How? Use this authoritative source for quick answers and in-depth coverage. The online version links encyclopedia articles to quality websites and magazines.
Encyclopedia Americana Enter your South Windsor card number to use from home or office 
Encyclopedia of Small Business Use in Library or enter your South Windsor library card number to access from home or office  Contains articles and overviews of all the key information needs of small business owners, including financing, financial planning, business plan creation, market analysis, sales strategy, tax planning, and human resource issues.
Facts.com Use in Library or enter your South Windsor library card number to use at home or office  News and current events for past 60 years. Choose "Issues and Controversies" for debate topics and information.
Grolier Online NEW! Use in Library   Encyclopedia Americana, Lands and Peoples and Amazing Animals of the World. Use these databases to find high quality articles from encyclopedias and magazines and identify great websites on your topic. Search all three at once or separately.
Grolier Online Enter your South Windsor card number to use from home or office 
Gale Encyclopedia of Alternative Medicine Use in Library or enter your South Windsor library card to access from home or office  Covers alternative and complementary medical practices, such as reflexology, acupressure, chelation therapy, kinesiology, polarity therapy, naturopathy, and Chinese medicine. Includes therapies for specific disorders and diseases, medicinal uses for plants and herbs, efficacy studies, and analysis of acceptance by traditional scientists and doctors.
MagillOnLiterature Use in Library  Database of LIterary Criticism. Offers summaries, criticism and interpretation of poems, novels, drama and short stories.
MagillOnLiterature Enter your South Windsor card number to use from home or office 
P4A Antiques Reference In Library use only  Search for values of your antiques and collectibles.
ReferenceUSA Use in Library or enter South Windsor card number to use from home or office  National business directory plus residential listings. Research businesses by location, yellow page headings and size. Find contact information and much more. A good source for investing, employment and marketing information.
Renaissance Encyclopedia Use in Library or enter your South Windsor library card to access from home or library  This title focuses on renaissance topics most studied in high school history, art, literature, economics and science classes. Features a chronology with topical timelines and bibliographies with age-appropriate further reading sources.
St. James Encyclopedia of Popular Culture Use in Library or enter your South Windsor library card number to access from home or office  Essays on American popular culture ranging from fast food and fitness fads to political events and lieterary genres. Major topics include: television, movies, sports, fashion, health, politics, trends, community life and advertising.
World Book Encyclopedia Use in Library  Students! Start your research here
World Book Encyclopedia Enter your South Windsor library card number to use from home  Who?, What?, Where?, Why? and How?